If you are having difficulty viewing this site, please click here

Real Estate Taxes


Real Estate Tax Rates

Town of Leesburg property owners pay both Town of Leesburg and Loudoun County real estate taxes. The real estate tax rates are set separately by each jurisdiction as part of the annual budget process. Rates are per $100 of assessed value.

2104 Real Estate Tax Rates

  Tax Rate 
Town of Leesburg   $0.183
Loudoun County    $1.155
Total    $1.338

Real Estate Assessments

The Loudoun County Commissioner of the Revenue provides annual assessments of real estate within the Town of Leesburg in January of each year, based on fair market value. Real estate taxes are calculated on 100 percent of assessed value.  

For questions concerning assessments, contact the Loudoun County Commissioner of the Revenue.

Tax Relief eligibility is determined by Loudoun County. Applications for tax relief must be submitted to Loudoun County.

Tax Due Dates

Town of Leesburg real estate taxes are due on the following dates each year:

  • 1st Half - June 5th

  • 2nd Half  - December 5th

Real estate tax bills are mailed approximately 30 days prior to the due dates. Taxes must be paid or postmarked by the due date.

Mailing address changes for real estate tax bills must be submitted to Loudoun County so the official land book can be updated. The Town cannot update addresses since tax bills are generated based on the Loudoun County Land Book and Assessors' information.

Delinquent Tax Penalties

The Town of Leesburg will charge a 10% penalty for delinquent taxes. In addition, 10% annual interest will be charged on unpaid tax balances. Interest begins to accrue on the first day of the month following the due date. The penalty for delinquent taxes is a $2 minimum or 10 percent of the taxes due, whichever is greater, but not to exceed the amount of the tax.

Please visit our Real Estate Tax Payment Options page for more information.

For more information on Town of Leesburg Real Estate Taxes, please email or call 703-771-2718.